

Tri-Village Local Schools School of Excellence Regular Board News Release January 7, 2019

The Tri-Village Local School District Board of Education held its 2019 organizational meeting on Monday, January 7, 2018 at 5:30 p.m. with the following members present: Tim Bevins, Shane Coby, Amy Farmer, Tracy Frech and Tom Schlechty. Administrators attending were Josh Sagester, Kimberly Chowning, Lee Morris and Shane Mead. Mr. Bevins nominated Mr. Schlechty as President of the Board of Education for 2019. Mr. Coby moved nominations be closed and Mrs. Farmer seconded. Mr. Bevins nominated Mrs. Farmer as Vice-President of the Board of Education for 2019. Mr. Bevins moved nominations be closed and Mrs. Farmer seconded. Mr. Bevins nominated Mrs. Frech seconded. The date, time, and place of regular meetings for 2019 was also approved by the Board members. Committee appointments are as follows: Transportation chair is Mr. Bevins and member Mr. Coby. Building and grounds chair is Mrs. Frech and member Mr. Schlechty. Miami Valley Career Technology Center Advisory chair is Mrs. Farmer and member Mr. Bevins. Legislative Liaison chair is Mr. Coby and member Mrs. Frech. Mr. Schlechty was nominated as a member to the Athletic Council. Mrs. Farmer moved that nominations be closed and Mr. Bevins seconded. Mrs. Farmer was nominated as the 2019 OSBA Student Liaison. Mr. Schlechty moved that nominations be closed and Mrs. Frech seconded. The 2019 organizational meeting was adjourned at 5:45.

The Board of Education members and administrators entered into the 2020 Budget Hearing meeting at 5:45 p.m. Mrs. Chowning reviewed the proposed 2020 Tax Budget with those present. The meeting was adjourned at 6:05 p.m.

At 6:05 p.m., the Board of Education members, administrators and visitors entered into a public hearing to discuss the proposed 2019-2020 district calendar. The meeting was adjourned at 6:10 p.m.

The regular Board of Education meeting began at 6:10 p.m. The regular meeting minutes for December 18, 2018 were approved. The members also approved December 2018 expenditures, current appropriation budget amendments and all financial reports as presented by the Treasurer.

Elementary Principal's Report: Mr. Mead shared a binder of technology plans that his teachers submit once a week. Mead expressed his appreciation by thanking the Board of Education for their support in the purchase of the chromebooks at the beginning of the school year. The use of chromebooks are incorporated into the lesson plans and are being used on a daily basis by the elementary students.

High School Principal's Report: Mr. Morris briefly discussed the JH/HS PBIS reward program.

Superintendent Report: January is School Board Appreciation Month. Mr. Sagester honored each board member with a certificate and thanked them for their service. House Bill 491, 58 and 502 were new laws signed by Governor Kasich prior to his tenure ending. Kasich also replaced four members of the State Board of Education with new appointees which include David Brinegar of Fayette, Cindy Collins of Amanda, Mark Lamoncha of Leetonia and Michael Toal of Sidney. Mr. Sagester again thanked the High School Student Council for sponsoring the Adopt-a- Family campaign. He stated that the fundraising effort by the entire District was overwhelming! A staff attendance update was shared as well. Employees who have used half a day of sick leave or less up to January will receive a 15 minute chair massage on the January 18th in-service day. This is funded by the wellness committee. Mr. Sagester thanked Brad Gray, Chris Pearson, and Lee Morris for spearheading the Patriot Holiday Classic once again. A fall athletic council meeting update was shared as well.

The following motions were voted upon by the Board of Education members:

PERSONNEL

None.

NEW BUSINESS

- A. Approve the 2019-2020 tax year school district budget.
- B. Accept the following donations to the High School Student Council Fund to benefit the Adopt a Family Program.
 - 1. \$250.00 The Darke County Fish and Game Club
 - 2. \$60.00 Marilyn Banks
 - 3. \$50.00 Brandon Moore
 - 4. \$20.00 Scott Downing

The meeting was adjourned at 7:30 p.m.